Live: Shahbaz Sharif elected Prime Minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: The meeting of the National Assembly for the election of the Prime Minister is going on under the chairmanship of Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, where the voting process has been completed.

According to the details, the process of electing the Prime Minister has started under the chairmanship of Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, where now the voting process for the leader of the House has been completed and Speaker Ayaz Sadiq has issued instructions to start the counting.

Voting process complete

Counting is going on after the completion of the voting process for Leader of the House in the National Assembly, Speaker Ayaz Sadiq will announce the results shortly.

Balochistan National Party chief Sardar Akhtar Jan Mengal did not cast his vote, he remained seated in the House.

National Assembly Session

Speaker Ayaz Sadiq presided over the meeting of the National Assembly for the election of the Prime Minister, the meeting was supposed to start at 11 am but the meeting started late.

Speaker Ayaz Sadiq read out the procedure for electing the leader of the house, the speaker announced the names of the nominees for the prime ministership and said that the lobby on the right side of the speaker has been allocated for those who voted for Shahbaz Sharif, while Omar Ayub A lobby to the left of the Speaker is reserved for those voting.

Prime Ministerial Candidates

Shahbaz Sharif, the candidate of the government alliance, and Umar Ayub, the candidate of the Sunni alliance council supported by Tehreek-e-Insaf, are facing each other in the election of the prime minister.

Former Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif is the candidate of coalition parties for the Prime Ministership, while the candidate of Sunni Unity Council is Umar Ayub Khan. What has been announced?

179 votes are needed to become the prime minister in the 336-member house, the allies have the support of 209 members in the house, while the number of Sunni Etihad Council members in the National Assembly is 91.

The meeting is delayed

The time of the National Assembly meeting was scheduled at 11 am, but the meeting was delayed an hour after it started under the chairmanship of Speaker Ayaz Sadiq.

Uproar in the House

As soon as the National Assembly session started, noise started in the house, the allies and the members of the Sunni Ittehad Council shouted slogans in the meeting, the members of the Sunni Council surrounded the speaker dais and shouted slogans in favor of the founder PTI.

The oath of perfection

During the meeting, Muslim League-Nawaz Member of Parliament Jam Kamal took oath while Speaker National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to him.

JUI election boycott

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (F) has boycotted the election of the Prime Minister, JUI had leveled allegations of massive rigging in the elections. Nawaz Sharif tried to convince Maulana Fazlur Rehman to support Shehbaz Sharif but failed.

Related Articles

Back to top button