Ishaq Dar, Faisal Vawda, Muhammad Aurangzeb elected senators


The PPP won 11 of the 19 seats in the Senate, while the PML-N won 6.

Federal Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar became a senator from Islamabad on a technocrat seat. Finance Minister Muhammad Aurangzeb has reached the upper house on the seat of a technocrat from Punjab.

With the votes of PP and MQM, Faisal Vawda became a senator from Sindh. Ten of the twelve seats in Sindh remained in the name of PPP. MQM's Aamir Chishti also went to Senatorban.

In the Senate elections from Punjab, the Muslim League (N) emerged as the majority party in the Senate from Punjab.

Muslim League (N) won four general seats, two technocrats, two women and one minority seat. After seven senators were elected unopposed, voting was held on Tuesday for five seats in the Punjab Assembly. Anusha Rehman of PPP had returned the papers.

The Senate election could not be held in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa due to the dispute of specific seats.

Congratulating the newly elected senators, the Prime Minister said that it is hoped that the new senators will play a role for the upliftment of the constitution and the development of the country.


Related Articles

Back to top button