Election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker today, how will the election be? The National Assembly Secretariat formulated the procedure


The election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly is to be held today.

According to ARY News, the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly is to be held today. The procedure for how this election will be done has been formulated by the Secretariat of the National Assembly, which will be in accordance with the procedure mentioned in the Rules of the Assembly, 2007.

Both positions will be elected through secret ballot. Each member shall have only one vote for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker for which each member shall be given a ballot paper containing the names of the nominated members.

Before the ballot paper is issued, it shall be signed by an officer of the secretariat and the seal of the assembly shall be affixed on the back of the pier.

The names of the members will be called alternately by the Secretary of the National Assembly for voting. After all members have voted, the secretary will open the ballot box.

It should be noted that the newly elected members of the National Assembly took oath yesterday. The election of the first speaker of the National Assembly will be held today under the chairmanship of Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf. After the completion of this election, the newly elected Speaker will take the oath of office and after assuming the charge, the Deputy Speaker will be elected while proceeding the proceedings of the House.

The PML-N candidate for Speaker is Ayaz Sadiq, who has the support of the People's Party and MQM Pakistan, while against him will be Amir Mahmood Dogar of the Sunni Ittehad Council.

Ghulam Mustafa Shah of People's Party will compete against Junaid Akbar of Sunni Ittehad Council for the seat of Deputy Speaker.


Related Articles

Back to top button