Ayaz Sadiq elected Speaker of National Assembly

Sardar Ayaz Siddique of PML-N has been elected as the new Speaker of National Assembly, he defeated the candidate of Sunni Ittehad Council.

The meeting for the election of the Speaker in the National Assembly was chaired by Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf. The Speaker was elected through a secret ballot in which PML-N Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was declared successful by securing 199 votes while Malik Amir Dogar of Sunni Unity Council got 91 votes.

Announcing the results, Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf said that 292 votes were cast for the election of the Speaker, in which 291 were correct and one was rejected. Ayaz Sadiq won by getting 199 votes while Malik Amir Dogar got 91 votes.

After the announcement of the result, the newly elected Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq went and met Malik Amir Dogar. Later, Raja Pervez Ashraf administered the oath of office to the newly elected Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, after which he assumed his position and proceeded with the proceedings of the House, while the slogans of the mandate thief were also heard intermittently in the House.

Related Articles

Back to top button